Wednesday, January 30, 2008

CNN-IBN Awards

The CNN-IBN Indian of the Year contest culminated on Tuesday night in Delhi with the winners being formally announced and honoured at the event.

Finance Minister P Chidambaram bagged the award for the Politician of the Year.

“I am proud to be a politician,” the Finance Minister told the audience as he collected the award.

He said he was happy that Network 18, “recognises the worth of politicians.”

World Chess Champion Viswanathan Anand was selected for the Sportsperson of the Year honour. His parents K Viswanathan and Susheela accepted the award on his behalf.

Businessman of the Year, State Bank of India’s Chairman O P Bhatt turned emotional while accepting the award. He credited his co-workers for the honour.

“This award is for Team SBI,” a visibly moved Bhatt said, while accepting the award. “I am truly honoured and grateful.”

Shimit Amin and Jaideep Sahni of Chak De! India fame took the award in the Entertainment category.

Vodafone CEO Arun Sarin was honoured in the Global Indian category while Delhi Metro chief E Sreedharan baggad the award for public service.

A special Lifetime Achievement Award was given to veteran cartoonist R K Laxman. Former President A P J Abdul Kalam presented the award to him.

Laxman has been making the popular Common Man cartoons for English daily The Times of India since 1961.

Finally, the Indian of the Year 2007 ... Delhi Metro chief E Sreedharan was honoured with this prestigious award.

“It is a very proud moment for me. The Metro is not a one-man effort,” said Sreedharan.

Speaking on the occasion, Vice-President Ansari said, “The award was unanimous.”

No comments: